Monroe County Zoning Department

NOTICE:  Effective Monday, June 1, 2020 at 8:00 a.m. Monroe County building access will change.

In an effort to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, Monroe County asks the public to continue to use remote options such as the Monroe County website, phone, email, and mail for all business that they are able. Monroe County Department contact listing can be found under the Quick Links on the Monroe County webpage.

Please do not visit county facilities if you are displaying any symptoms of COVID-19, cough, fever, chills, sore throat, fatigue or body aches, difficulty breathing, loss of smell or taste, or you have recently been around anyone known to have or suspected of having COVID-19

If you need to meet with a county department you are asked to call ahead and make an appointment to limit the number of people in waiting areas.

All visitors are encouraged to wear masks and social distance while conducting county business on site.

Sanitation/Zoning/ Forestry/Parks/IT: Open to public with appointments encouraged. Pick up applications from entrance door holder or off website. All residents needing to drop mail or make payments may use the secure drop box on the porch, available at all hours.


If your property is near water or in one of the following Towns please contact our office before beginning construction: Adrian, La Grange, Leon, Little Falls, New Lyme, Oakdale, Ridgeville, Sparta, Tomah, Wells and Wilton 

County Zoning Chapter 47

Floodplain Zoning Chapter 50

Shoreland Zoning Chapter 53 

Subdivision Ordinance Chapter 35


Notice for Zoning Ordinance Changes– This form provides information on how to receive direct notifications for up coming zoning ordinance or comprehensive plan changes.

Department Documents

Helpful Links and other informational resources: